Originality, Diversity and Independence :Call for Submissions to IAAC 4


The International Awards for Art Criticism Ltd. (IAAC) launches the fourth edition of their Awards this month (IAAC 4) and will announce their new competition rules, awards system and members of its international jury at a press conference to be held at theShanghai Minsheng Art Museum on 2 June 2017.

Director of Shanghai Minsheng Art Museum GanZhiyi announce the new rules

The Awards are explicitly intended to stimulate new critical writing. For the first time only previously unpublished reviews will be eligible for consideration. Apart from that, the number of awards winners will be increased from three to four, and their value increased, all round. As Ms. Gan Zhiyi, Director of the Shanghai Minsheng Art Museum and an additional member of the Organisi ng Committee will explain at the press conference:

Director of SAAC (Shanghai Artemis Art Center) Zhang Bing announce the new juries


This year our sponsors have generously increased the value of the Awards, so as to maintain their global competitiveness and stimulate new critical writing from different parts of the world.'
The addition of a further award now means that two awards each will go to competitors writing in each of the two languages, Chinese and English. The top amount of 10,000 euro (or its RMB equivalent) will go to a competitor writing in either of these languages, whilst  the remaining three awards (each worth 3,500 euro, up from 2,000 euro) will go to candidates writing in either of these languages.

IAAC4 Jury member, Director of PSA Gong Yan make a speech

These International Awards are open to candidates from anywhere in the world, starting on  2 June 2017. The deadline for entries is 24 September 2017. Candidates are invited to write a review of 1,500 words or 2,000 Chinese character of any exhibition of contemporary art , held anywhere in the world between 20 September 2016 and 20 September 2017. There are no restrictions on the contributors, in terms of their age, status or professional background.
Each year, the Awards are adjudicated by an international panel of high profile experts. All of these have a thorough knowledge of contemporary artistic creation and critical practice. Their diverse backgrounds reflect the wide range of the critical spectrum across writers, scholars, curators and artists, as well as full time practising critics

IAAC3 Joint Second Prize Winner Yao Mengxi make a speech

As usual, the IAAC 4 will be adjudicated by a 5-person international jury composed of the following: Antonia Carver (Director of Art Jameel, Dubai), Gong Yan (Director of The Power Station of Art, Shanghai), Tim Marlow (Artistic Director of the Royal Academy of Arts, London), Raqs Media Collective of New Delhi and Shen Kuiyi (Professor of Art History, Theory and Criticism, University of California, San Diego).

panel discussing
Ling Min GuestDing Yi, Xu Zhen, Yang Fudong

Since its inception in 2014, the IAAC has continuously worked to extend its network and influence. As Henry Meyric Hughes, the Chairperson of the Board of the IAAC, stated, ‘These International Awards, which are open to all, already have an assured place in the artistic calendar. However, our sponsors’ generosity, in increasing both their number and value, underpins their claim to global leadership.’ The previous three editions of the IAAC have met with an enthusiastic response from a diverse global community of artists, curators, critics, researchers, students and freelance writers. Nearly 800 entries from 47 countries and regions in the world have been received, so far. These have covered not only major exhibitions from well-known museums, but also a wide range of exhibitions from small and independent art spaces or institutions everywhere.

The International Awards for Art Criticism (IAAC) are hosted by an international Board, and organised by the Shanghai Minsheng Art Museum, the Royal College of Art (RCA), the International Association of Art Critics (AICA) and Shanghai Artemis Art Center (SAAC). The principal sponsors are China Minsheng Banking Corporation Ltd. (CMBC), Shanghai Minsheng Art Foundation and Anxin Trust Corporation Ltd. The Awards are also strongly supported by the cultural department of the local government of Shanghai

Members of the International Jury
  • 安东尼娅•卡弗 Antonia Carver

    Antonia Carver

  • 龚彦

    Gong Yan

  • 蒂姆•马娄 Tim Marlow

    Tim Marlow

  • 印度Raqs媒体小组 Raqs Media Collective

    Raqs Media Collective

  • 沈揆一

    Shen Kuiyi